The 2013 NAWCC Ward Francillon Time Symposium and Special Exhibition of Spectacular Clocks, Watches, and Sundials
by The Pre-Eminent Master
Thomas Tompion (1639–1713)

California Institute of Technology Pasadena, California

7-9 November 2013


Jim Cipra

Chairman, NAWCC Ward Francillon Time Symposium Committee (U.S.A.)

Mostyn Gale

Chairman, 2013 NAWCC Ward Francillon Time Symposium (U.S.A.)

William J. H. Andrewes

Author, Horological Consultant, and Sundial Maker (U.S.A.)

John C. Taylor

Inventor, Clockmaker, and Horologist (Isle of Man)

Sean Carroll (Chair)

Senior Research Associate in Physics, Division of Physics, Mathematics and Astronomy, California Institute of Technology (U.S.A.)

Lynn Rothschild

Evolutionary Biologist/ Astrobiologist, NASA Ames Research Center; Consulting Professor, Stanford University; and Adjunct Professor, Brown University (U.S.A.)

David Eagleman

Professor of Neuroscience, Baylor College of Medicine (U.S.A.)

E. C. Krupp

Astronomer and Director, Griffith Observatory (U.S.A.)

Dava Sobel

Author (U.S.A.)

Anthony Turner

Author and Historian of Scientific Instruments (France)

Jonathan Betts

Senior Curator of Horology, Royal Museums Greenwich (U.K.)

Donald Saff

Art Historian, Artist, and Author (U.S.A.)

Tracy Dennison

Professor of Social Science History, California Institute of Technology (U.S.A.)

Chris McKay

Author and Specialist in Turret Clocks (U.K.)

Chris Bailey

Former Curator, American Clock & Watch Museum (U.S.A.)

Geoff Chester

Public Affairs Officer, U.S. Naval Observatory (U.S.A.)

Linn Hobbs

John F. Elliott Professor of Materials Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts

James Nye

Visiting Fellow, Institute of Contemporary British History, King’s College London, and Council Member and Secretary, Electrical Timekeeping Group of the Antiquarian Horological Society (U.K.)

David Rooney

Curator of Time, Navigation and Transport, Science Museum, London, and Former Curator of Timekeeping, National Maritime Museum, Greenwich (U.K.)

Thomas O’Brian

Chief, Time and Frequency Division, National Institute of Standards and Technology (U.S.A.)

William D. Phillips

Nobel Laureate, Laser Cooling and Trapping Group, National Institute of Standards and Technology (U.S.A.)

Mark Frank

Horological Researcher and Collector, Chicago, Illinois (U.S.A.)

Bob Holmström

President, NAWCC Horological Science Chapter 161 (U.S.A.)

Tom Van Baak

Physicist, Mathematician, Operating Systems Software Engineer, and Precision Clock Enthusiast, Bellevue, Washington (U.S.A.)